United Kingdom Extends eGate Use to US Citizens

From June, citizens from 7 more countries, including the USA are now able to use eGates at UK airports and Brussels and Paris Eurostar terminals for faster travel through the UK Border.

You can find out more info about the extension of this service here

So What Are eGates?

eGates are an automated self-service option that eligible travellers can use at passport control at 15 ports and Eurostar terminals. They’re a much quicker way to cross the border. The ePassport gates use facial recognition technology to check your identity against the photo in your passport

How Many Ports Have eGates?

There are 15 ports with eGates including Birmingham, East Midlands, London City, Luton, Stansted, Heathrow, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Manchester, Newcastle, Bristol, Cardiff and Gatwick Airport, as well as Eurostar terminals in Brussels-Midi/Zuid and Paris Gare Du Nord.

Can I use eGates?

You can use eGates if you fit the following criteria:

  • You must be a citizen of Great Britain & Northern Ireland, the European Union, or European Economic Area (including Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland), Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, or the United States of America 
  • You must be age 12+
  • You must have a biometric chip in your passport (your passport will have one of these logos) 


Who Can’t Use eGates?

You can’t use an eGate if you fit the following criteria:

  • You are travelling with a child under 12 years
  • You are travelling using a National Identity Card
  • You are travelling with a passport that does not have a biometric chip
  • You are travelling to the UK for the purpose of a short term study and require a stamp in your passport

If you fit the above criteria you will need to see a passport officer


So How Do I Use an eGate?

Check out the video below on how to use eGates to save you time at the border!


Want more info on using eGates? Check out the UK Gov Border Force Guide to Faster Travel